2023 Cartoon Contest Header

Announcing the 2023 Winners!

Judged Winners: People's Choice:
  • First: Clay Jones - Fredericksberg, VA
  • Second: Phil Fehrenbacher - Salem, OR
  • Third: Dennis Townsend - Tacoma, WA
  • Fourth: Ava E. Spencer - Silverton, OR
  • Fifth: James Whitty - Portland, OR
Click Here to View all the 2023 Entries:

Click here to Start

Navigation: Each page has three light blue arrow buttons at the bottom. There are a total of 16 cartoon entires. The LEFT button will load the previous image, and the RIGHT button will load the next page. On page one, LEFT will load the last page, and on Page 28, the RIGHT button will load the first page. The CENTER or "up" arrow will return you to this page.

Judging: The work is judged in these three categories:

1. Artistic Skill: What is the technical skill of the artist's work?
2. Implied Message: Was the message of the cartoon clear and obvious?
3. Over-All Appeal: Was the cartoon effective?

Scoring: The cartoon's subject should represent a contemporary political, economic and(or) social idea of interest—an "Editorial Cartoon." In each of the three categories, a number from 1 to 5 was determined by our judges, with 1 being lowest and 5 being highest. These numbers will be added up, and the cartoons with the highest numbers will be declared the winners. In the case of ties, the People's Choice numbers will be added to the mix to determine a winner at each level.

Awards: There were four total awards determined by the judges. The five People's Choice awards were determined by Festival atrtendees, who cast votes for their five favorite cartoons. Additionally, in the case of tie votes, the Peoples Choice votes will be used to break the tie. Winners will be announced Sunday afternoon at the festival, and announced online at the "Homer Page."

Meet the 2023 Judges
Senator Lew Frederick   Oregon State Senator Lew Frederick (D-Portland) first took office as an Oregon State Representative on October 30, 2009 during a swearing-in ceremony in the House Chambers of the Oregon Capitol Building. Professionally he is a Strategic Communications Consultant, focusing on Strategic Planning, Community Relations, Science/Technical issues and Media Crisis Communications. With an academic background in biology, theater, and political science, his professional life has included seventeen years as a television reporter at KGW-Channel 8 in Portland, thirteen years as the Director of Public Information for the Portland Public Schools, teacher, actor and ranch-hand.
Elvi Cuellar Sutton   Elvi Cuellar Sutton, is a native-born Silvertonian, and its first Latina City Councilor, who has served the community for the last two years. With the election of Council President Jason Freilinger as Mayor, Elvi was appointed Council President. As a local business owner and active Rotarian, she has enjoyed taking part in all aspects of our town including its amazing festivals. Her latest adventure has been taking part in Silverton's new All-Abilities Park and she looks forward to providing safe spaces for all to indulge in our slice of heaven!
Represenative Rick Lewis   Oregon State Representative Rick Lewis, (R-Silverton) was appointed to the Oregon House after the resignation of Vic Gilliam. Prior to joining the legislature, Lewis served as the Mayor and as the Chief of Police for Silverton. He is a life member of the Oregon Association Chiefs of Police and served as the organization’s President in 1991. In 2005, he took a six month leave of absence from the Silverton Police Department to teach the Executive Leadership Program for the Iraqi Police leadership during Operation Iraqi Freedom. Rick lives in Silverton with his wife of 38 years, Pat.

Return to the Cartoon Contest Home